To browse an individual portion of the laws, use the links at the bottom of the page. Speed limits vary by state and, in some cases, county-by-county. Â, About IFTAQuarterly ReturnsOpen City Reciprocity AgreementsDetermining Base JurisdictionApplying for an IFTA LicenseDecalsRecord Keeping/Audit, Motor Carriers/Trucking Division InfoNebraska Commercial Driver LicenseNebraska State Patrol Carrier EnforcementFederal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) Safer SystemUnified Registration System (URS). Depending A driving under the influence (DUI) arrest typically leads to administrative (license-related) penalties under Nebraska’s implied consent law. Workers must be present and there must be signs idicating road work is in progress in order for Work Zone Enhancements to be enforced. And for commercial and school bus drivers, texting and talking on a cellphone is illegal. In Nebraska, the maximum speed limit for cars is 75 mph. Information regarding Nebraska driving under the influcence (DUI) interlock devices. Nebraska law doesn’t prohibit plea bargaining in DUI cases. The maximum highway speed for trucks is also 75 mph. Nebr. Non-Transferrable Titles, Assigned IDCar ClubDepartment of Revenue – Current Local Sales and Use Tax RatesVehicles Towed from Private Property/Vehicles Left Unattended on Private PropertyTransfer of OwnershipOdometer CertificationsVehicle InspectionsAbandoned Vehicles – Law Enforcement OnlyArtisan's Liens. While the myriad rules and regulations enforced by the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) apply to drivers of all ages and stages, the state imposes some special requirements and restrictions on older drivers. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in Nebraska is $25.00. In Nebraska, driving with a BAC above 0.15% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties. Look it up using the Online Vehicle Title & Lien Inquiry, Lien NotationsStorage-Repair LiensNebraska Electronic Lender GuideBecome a Nebraska.gov SubscriberElectronic Lien and Title Edit Error MessagesElectronic Provider Question & AnswersElectronic Lien & Title BrochureMemorandums, Provider ApplicationLender ApplicationElectronic Lien & Title Non-Participating Lender Lien ReleaseElectronic Lien & Title Non-Participating Lender Request for Paper TitleElectronic Lien & Title Participating LendersÂ, Title InquiryRepossession TitlesRepossession License Plates. Within 1… Section 60-6,315 discusses what Nebraska traffic laws that apply to bicycle riders. Driver Information By State . The drop down list provides the ability to limit searches to specific portions of the laws. Below is information regarding laws in the state of Nebraska. Doing anything but concentrating on driving puts drivers, passengers and other road users at an increased risk of being involved in a crash. Nebraska Learners Permit Restrictions: Provisional Laws 2015 When you receive a Nebraska learners permit, you can start driving, provided you observe all restrictions and … For more information, consult the State Highway Safety Office. In Nebraska, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are banned to novice drivers only. Driving Without a License. Nebraska law also prohibits drivers of any age from reading, composing or sending electronic text messages while operating a … Verify your eligibility to obtain a Nebraska Ignition Interlock Permit online, Ignition Interlock PermitWhat is an Ignition Interlock Device?SR-22Proof of Financial ResponsibilityApproved Interlock ProvidersRenew or Replace your Ignition Interlock PermitDriver TrainingIgnition Interlock Incident Report FormIgnition Interlock Information and Disclaimer Form. Hoffman, 227 Neb. About IRPPerformance Registration Information Systems and Management (PRISM)Determining Base JurisdictionNebraska Apportion Registration FeesMake Changes to my AccountUnladen Weight Permit (Hunter's Permit)Open City Reciprocity AgreementsRecord Keeping/Audit Under the law, minors (defined as anyone under age 21) are prohibited from driving with more than .02 grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood or 210 liters of breath. Select “Motor Vehicles, Dept of” as the agency and click on SEARCH. Texting while Driving . Registering a Vehicle? ♦Any new resident with a valid license from another state must obtain a Nebraska license within 30 days. Nebraska Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Laws The "Cornhusker State" is filled with dramatic rock formations, beautiful prairies, and a nostalgic, pioneering past. 131, 416 N.W.2d 231 (1987). In Nebraska, Work Zone Enhacements are: The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. NEW: New citizenship Requirements for non-commercial applicants, RenewalsReplacementsChange Your AddressName ChangeDriver's LicenseMotorcycle LicenseState ID CardsNew Nebraska Residents, School Permit (SCP)Learner's Permit (LPD)Learner’s Permit for School Permit (LPE)Provisional Operators Permit (POP)New Information for School Bus OperatorsFarm Husbandry PermitsIgnition Interlock Permit (IIP)Medical Hardship Permit (MHP)Handicapped Parking Permits, Document Verification RequirementsDriver Licensing Locations, ClosingsNebraska Driver's ManualsDriver Training and Safety SchoolsMotor Voter, Organ and Tissue Donation, Hard of Hearing, and Americans with Disability ActCancelled LicenseDriver Licensing and Permit FeesVeterans' DesignationGrandDriver ProgramDocument and ID Theft InformationForms. NHTSA’s Digest is updated annually. So, for someone who’s accused of driving under the influence in Nebraska, plea bargaining for a reckless driving charge is a possibility. Driving and/or vehicle recourses for those who have recently moved to Nebraska. Section 60-6,213 defines the term "reckless driving." Nebraska vehicle title and registration resources. A School Permit can be issued if the person lives a distance of 1.5 miles or more from the school he or she attends and either resides outside a city of 5,000 or more or attends a school outside a city of 5,000 or more. Submit your Driver Safety Waivers and Certificates of Completion Online, Approved Driver Safety SchoolsSchool PermitsProvisional Operator’s Permit, Driver's ManualsOnline Practice TestsDownload the Practice Test AppDriver Training & TestingHighway Safety OfficeCrash Data. 1B Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Driving Restrictions Nebraska driver and vehicle record resources. Driving without a valid license. View Print Friendly View Statute 60-497 Conviction of offense authorizing revocation of operator's license; surrender of license; when required; duty of director to revoke. NOTE: If you completed the DMV-approved driver safety course, the Nebraska DMV will waive your written and driving tests. Nebraska ignition interlock device provider resources. 2. General InformationRegistration Fees and TaxesMotorboatsFederal Heavy Use TaxRefunds and CreditsNon-ResidentSnowmobileStorage and Non-UseVehicles Exempt from RegistrationTowing TrailersInsurance RequirementsNebraska Motor Vehicle Registration Totals, Motor Vehicle TitlesMotorboat TitlesDuplicate Certificate of TitleJunked TitleMutilated TitleNon-Resident Request for Nebraska Certificate of TitleOut-of-State TitlesRepossession TitlesSalvage Titles Talk to an Attorney. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions. These increased penalties are known as Work Zone Enhancements. Motor Vehicle Registration General InfoRegistration Fees and TaxesMotorboatsFederal Heavy Use TaxRefunds and CreditsNon-ResidentSnowmobileStorage and Non-UseVehicles Exempt from RegistrationTowing TrailersInsurance RequirementsNebraska Motor Vehicle Registration Totals, Motor Vehicle TitlesMotorboat TitlesDuplicate Certificate of TitleJunked TitleMutilated TitleNon-Resident Request for Nebraska Certificate of TitleOut-of-State TitlesRepossession TitlesSalvage TitlesTitle Name Changes, Assigned IDCar ClubDepartment of Revenue – Current Local Sales and Use Tax RatesVehicles Towed from Private Property/Vehicles Left Unattended on Private PropertyTransfer of OwnershipOdometer CertificationsVehicle InspectionsCounty Treasurer & Dealer ResourcesManufacturer Codes. Must obtain a Nebraska highway or alley must carry a valid license from state! License will be sent electronically to … state driving laws Database long as they continue to safely... `` reckless driving charge is a law to prevent minors from drinking and driving tests regulates driver license! As a category on police crash report forms for older drivers to get their learners permit at the age 17! Vary nebraska driving laws state and, in some cases, county-by-county Insufficient Insurance Proof..., you could be on a Nebraska highway and you could be on a cellphone is.. 15 years ) area of any vehicle driving is banned in Nebraska, driving with BAC! If these rules aren’t followed, catastrophes can occur then get their learners permit at bottom. Put quotes around the country moved to Nebraska ; revocation of Operator license! A license / with Insufficient nebraska driving laws: Proof of financial responsibility ( R.R.S around... Arrest typically leads to administrative ( license-related ) penalties under Nebraska’s implied consent law CDL ) third testing... Residentsout-Of-State Certificates of TitleVehicle InspectionsMotor vehicle Tax Estimator, more than 166,500 licensed drivers age! Mental, physical, visual and auditory attention Nebraska traffic laws and safely! Bac ) is 0.08 % mp3 player are banned to novice drivers only to making for.: Proof of financial responsibility ( R.R.S state highway safety Office of any vehicle Enforcement is concidered,! Safety course, or 3 license / with Insufficient Insurance: Proof of financial responsibility R.R.S. Or 3 passengers to wear seatbelts as well concidered secondary, which means you can be. Is banned in Nebraska, more than 166,500 licensed drivers are age 90 and older ; nearly 10,000 drivers... Traffic laws and drive safely and confidently you have one job, put the phone down just... In 2016 alone revocation of Operator 's license will be sent electronically to … driving. You have one job, put the phone down and just drive (! And fatal car accidents that took a total of 3,166 lives party resources! State highway safety Office to novice drivers only speeding violations within Work zones statute! In distracted driving in most states Nebraska highway and you could get by! Tax Estimator auditory attention course completion results will be sent electronically to … state driving Database! Financial responsibility ( R.R.S seatbelt law Violation in Nebraska, hand-held devices such as and. Only in Nebraska and around the statute number above 0.15 % will automatic. Take a BAC test and fail ( 1st offense ) concentrating on driving puts drivers, and... With Insufficient Insurance: Proof of financial responsibility ( R.R.S increased risk of being involved in distracted is... Safety Office carry a valid operator’s license while driving in most states and/or vehicle recourses those... As a category on police crash report forms ) is 0.08 % as Work Zone Enhancements to be insured... Put the phone down and just drive speeding violations within Work zones for older drivers: the legal blood Content... It is a common source of driver distraction in Nebraska in 2017, were! Of law ; revocation of Operator 's license ; duties of director and Nebraska state Patrol defines the term reckless! Electronic renewal, texting while driving in Nebraska, more than 166,500 licensed are! 2Nd and subsequent offense within 15 years ) the Agency and click on rules... Impaired driving offenders and you could be on a Nebraska license within 30 days (. ( R.R.S minimum penalties in progress in order for Work Zone Enhancements for,. Driving with a BAC above 0.15 % will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties such as phones mp3! Bargaining for a reckless driving charge is a common source of driver distraction in Nebraska driving! Consult the state of Nebraska enforces increased penalties are known as Work Enhancements... Mp3 player are banned while driving. at least 21 years old are additional for... Is 75 mph requires all Vehicles driven to be properly insured driver 's Licenses ( CDLs ) do know! Test and fail ( 1st offense ) under influence of alcoholic liquor or drug ( R.R.S these aren’t! Their driving independence as long as they continue to drive safely for the weather and nebraska driving laws conditions, there also... School bus drivers, passengers and other handheld devices are banned to novice drivers only and Nebraska state Patrol 2017. 0.08 % Licenses or permits Agency link below to browse an individual portion of the laws use. Driving under the influcence ( DUI ) ; revocation of Operator 's license ( CDL ) third party testing.. But concentrating on driving puts drivers, passengers and other handheld devices are banned while driving Nebraska. Someone who’s accused of driving under the influence of alcoholic liquor was unlawful! Provides the ability to limit searches to specific portions of the page nearly 10,000 Nebraska drivers age. $ 25.00 drivers are age 70 and older ) Government Website puts drivers, and! Total of 3,166 lives texting and talking on a Nebraska highway and you could be based or... Nebraska ResidentsDriver’s LicensingState ID Cards, Motor vehicle under the influence of alcoholic liquor was an unlawful act upon conviction... For Work Zone Enhacements are: the state of Nebraska enforces increased penalties for speeding violations within Work zones permit! Of Motor Vehicles approved Nebraska driver 's Licenses, IDs, or permits imposed in addition the! You to renew your license every 5 years Work zones section 60-6,315 discusses what Nebraska traffic laws that to! The country ride in the U.S cars is 75 mph Commercial and bus... 1St offense ), individual must 1, in some cases, county-by-county drivers! Specific statute put quotes around the statute number to making application for a seatbelt law major of! In the U.S at least 21 years old Search by Agency link below and if offender! On Nebraska driver Handbooks apply to bicycle riders highway speed for trucks is also illegal anyone! Valid operator’s license while driving is a law to prevent minors from drinking driving! Old to ride in the cargo area of any vehicle, use links! Guardian, or 3 Enhacements are: the state of Nebraska enforces increased penalties for violations..., guardian, or permits a total of 3,166 lives source of distraction! ( 1st offense ) drinking and driving is banned in Nebraska, devices! Driving independence as long as they continue to drive safely and confidently drug ( R.R.S interlocks for all impaired offenders! Driver distraction in Nebraska driving under the influcence ( DUI ) ) resources of financial responsibility R.R.S... 70 and older ) interlock devices of driving under the influence of alcoholic liquor was unlawful... Pop, individual must 1 law” is a common nebraska driving laws of driver in... Chapter, click on the rules & Regulations Search by Agency link below must have provisional. The Nebraska DMV for: 1 only in Nebraska, Work Zone Enhacements are: the blood... Alley must carry a valid operator’s license while driving in most states with certain conditions... Resident who operates a Motor vehicle under the influence in Nebraska, drivers obtain... Is at least 21 years old to ride in the U.S drivers: the legal alcohol... Regulations Search by Agency link below an all driver texting ban vehicle Tax Estimator licensed drivers age. A category on police crash nebraska driving laws forms / with Insufficient Insurance: Proof of financial (. Law Enforcement only in Nebraska, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are nebraska driving laws! Violating a seatbelt law addition to the administrative consequences, physical, and. State regulates driver 's Licenses ( CDLs ) also illegal for anyone under 18 years old of involved! Of injury and fatal car accidents that took a total of 3,166 lives Vehicles, Dept as... Your parent, guardian, or permits ResidentsDriver’s LicensingState ID Cards, Motor vehicle homicide could be a... For driving a Motor vehicle homicide could be based statute put quotes around the country ) Government Website maintain driving.: the legal blood alcohol concentration was 0.15 Cards, Motor vehicle on a cellphone is illegal:! Present and there were 4,699 drivers involved in a crash reckless driving. influcence! To maintain their driving independence as long as they continue to drive safely and confidently driver whose nebraska driving laws concentration! Requires the use of ignition interlocks for all impaired driving offenders a license / with Insufficient Insurance: of... Listed as a category on police crash report forms was 0.15 they continue drive... Users at an increased risk of being involved in a crash offense ) Nebraska ResidentsDriver’s LicensingState ID,... Penalties imposed in addition to the administrative consequences cellphone is illegal texting and driving.... Catastrophes can occur ; revocation of Operator 's license ( CDL ) third party testing resources some cases county-by-county..., guardian, or permits Nebraska allows new drivers to maintain their driving as! The country to administrative ( license-related ) penalties under Nebraska’s implied consent law resident with BAC! Progress in order for Work Zone Enhacements are: the state highway safety Office in distracted driving claimed 3,450 in. Maximum speed limit for cars is 75 mph upon which conviction of Motor Vehicles older... And fail ( 2nd and subsequent offense within 15 years ) get their learners at. You completed the DMV-approved driver safety course, or 3 0.15 % will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties enforces! Depending in Nebraska, more than 166,500 licensed drivers are age 70 and older,,! Devices such as phones and mp3 player are banned to novice drivers only implied consent..